About the Festival

Now in its third year, The ShortList Film Festival is thrilled to once again bring the very best short films from around the world to your computer or mobile device. The festival will stream online from August 13-27, 2014, will be hosted on YouTube and air exclusively on the EPIX television channel for the first time.

The ShortList Film Festival is not like most film festivals. We select only 12 of the best award-winning short films that have premiered at a major festival in the past year, making this the most highly competitive film festival of its kind!

The 12 films will be presented from August 13-27 on this website as well as TheWrap.com, which gets over 7 million unique views per month.  

They will also be highlighted daily in our First Take Newsletter which goes out to thousands of subscribers.  

Finalists will have the opportunity to promote their film to fans and friends who can then vote online.  

The film with the most votes will win our Audience Award.  In addition, our jury of esteemed industry experts will separately judge the 12 shorts and select one Jury Prize winner.  Winners will be presented at our live event at YouTube Space LA on August 28th.

YouTube is underwriting a $5,000 cash prize for the Audience Prize, awarded by the most votes tallied online, while EPIX is underwriting a $5,000 cash prize for the Industry Prize, awarded by a distinguished panel of experts in independent film. Both winners will also receive the opportunity to consult with production executives at the independent movie studio Cinedigm, as well as a movie studio partnered with EPIX.



Featured sponsors